Dark Avengers/Uncanny X-Men:Utopia#1 REVIEW

12 07 2009

For my first ever review I will be reviewing Dark Avengers/Uncanny X-Men:Utopia#1. Written by: Matt Fraction and Drawn by: Marc Silvestri with pencil assists from: Michael Broussard, Eric Basaldua, Tyler Kirkham, and Sheldon Mitchell. This is part one of a six issue story called Utopia. It is a Dark Avengers and Uncanny X-Men crossover event. First off I have to say I love Fraction’s style of writing. I think those three sentence boxes about the characters are just so darn cool. The art felt like a Tyler Kirkham book to me because I’ve seen more of his art than Silvestri’s. So to me the art was a little distracting because to me it felt like two different artists did the book and both Kirkham and Silvestri’s styles are a bit alike. One thing that bothers me about Silvestri’s art is that it feels like the same styles feel a bit like David Finch and Billy Tan’s style, that could just be me. I love how many characters there are and yet Fraction nails all of them.

The Mutant Registration Act thing is getting a little old. It’s like, “Eh, been there, done that”. Nothing extremely new happens in this issue. The fighting is cool, the art made it clear what was happening. The dialouge is awesome. Everything about the writing is awesome and enjoyable. Awesome appearances by characters I haven’t seen in comics for a while like Toad and other characters. One of the greatest moment of the book is when Venom tackles Colossus. The way it was written and drawn just made me look at the page in awe. Although I wish they continued that fight though… The page with Bullseye talking to the police officer nailed his character perfectly. Another part I enjoyed was when Cyclops looks down at Ares and says, “Someone’ll have to figure out a way to bring that monster down.” I thought that that was cool and a good point. Some things leave you wondering what the heck is going on, but hopefully those things will be resolved in the next chapters of the story.

Overall it was a very solid issue. Worth the $3.99 because it was a double-sized issue and because the writing and art were good as well.

Rating:B+

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

