Green Lantern Corps#40 REVIEW

14 09 2009

Before I forget I’d like to throw this out: I was going to get Uncanny X-Men/Dark Avengers: Exodus and Dark Reign: The List- Avengers, but my store sold out of copies by the time I got to my comic book store so I have to wait till Wednesday to get them and review them if I have the time. But I did manage to get a copy of this book:

Green Lantern Corps#40

Writer: Peter J. Tomasi

Artist: Patrick Gleason w/ inks by Rebecca Buchman, Tom Nguyen, and Prentis Rollins

Price: $2.99

Publisher: DC Comics

This is the best new comic book I read all week (technically last week since its a Sunday right now…). In fact in my opinion its DC’s best superhero team book. What Peter J. Tomasi does in this book is special. He doesn’t just rely on one particular character on the team to carry out the whole book, which is kind of what Bendis will do in New Avengers which is fine in my opinion but I think its cooler to have all the team members carry the book. Tomasi writes each member of the Green Lantern Corps equally and what I mean by that is that he gives each character a moment to shine at some point in the story and we get a good perspective of what’s going on with the character. I have only read about 6 or 7 issues of Green Lantern Corps anf Tomasi has already gotten me attached to many members of the Green Lantern Corps. The scene were Guy Gardner is fighting Bzzd and and the random Black Lantern that appears was so cool. After that scene I kept thinking, “Please don’t die, Gardner. Please don’t die Gardner.” Unfortunately after that there are no more scenes with him in it, which was both a relief and a disappointment. I want to see more of Guy Gardner!

In my opinion the coolest scene(s) were the ones with Kyle Rayner and Jenny Lynn, who is now a Black Lantern. This scene was cool because it shows one of the many examples of how not only emotionally conficting the whole event of Blackest Night is, but how during the scenes you could feel Rayner’s pain. Rayner eventually realizes that this is not the girl he once loved and hurts her, so the zombie-fied Jenny turns all ugly and attacks Rayner in return. I’m interested to see what comes next. But in just one issue Tomasi has gotten me interested in what happens next and furthers my emotional investment in two characters and my wanting of them to survive. If either Guy or Rayner die (or both of them) I know I’m gonna be broken and a mess because I really am liking the way Tomasi writes the characters.

I can’t end this review without praising Patrick Gleason’s mind-blowing art. I thought Ivan Reis and Doug Mahnke could draw some scary Black Lanterns, but after reading this issue I am now scared to death of his Black Lantern drawings. Man that Black Lantern with the tongues for eyes and an eye for a mouth still scares the hell out of me. I check under my bed for it before I go to sleep… not really. Anyway Gleason has been doing the best work he’s ever done on the recent issues of Green Lantern Corps. Although having three inkers on the art really makes it look kind of inconsistant though, but otherwise Gleason’s art shines immensly.

This is the second best superhero team comic book in my opinion (Agents of Atlas is first on that list). Needless to say Green Lantern Corps is an awesome book and its the best Blackest Night tie-in so far. So if Peter J. Tomasi or Patrick Gleason ever read this review: KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!

Rating: B+

Tomorrow (if I have time) I will do a review Hulk Red and Battle for the Cowl because I found them in some bargain bins and I thought, “I might as well suffer with all the other poor souls who read these issues…”, Character of the Week, and some other… random shtuff. So stay tuned!

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 10 2009
BloggerDude

I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

A definite great read….

11 10 2009
comicbookdude89

Your welcome! And I’m glad you found this blog as well! It’s nice to get comments from different people. I hope you stick around for a while and I hope you keep enjoying the blog!

Leave a Reply

