Amazing Spider-Man#606 REVIEW

24 09 2009

I’m gonna do this review before I completly forget. So here we go:

Amazing Spider-Man#606

Writer: Joe Kelly

Artist: Mike McKone w/ inks by Andy Lanning

Price: $2.99

Publisher: Marvel Comics

*EDIT*: I just spilled some diet coke on my copy of this issue. It’s not too much damage but still… 😦

Finally we have a decent issue of ASM since #601. I thought Van Lente’s run was ok. I think it was because I expected a lot from him. Just a quick thought here: #605 was totally pointless. Ok that was my one sentence review of ASM#605. I hope you enjoyed it.

Ok so moving on… by the way that is a really nice cover (see above) by J. Scott Campbell. Anyway I really enjoyed the American Son story arc (which was also written by Joe Kelly for those who don’t know) so I expected great things from his return (kinda) on the book. Did he disappoint? Nope. He gave me exactly what I expected. Now I’ve read some of his stuff outside ASM (i.e. Deadpool, JSA) and the guy is pretty funny. He has a near perfect comidic timing. There were a lot of jokes thrown around and I know I’ve critisized Guggenheim for doing that, but Kelly’s jokes work and don’t fall flat on their face like Guggenheim’s jokes do most of the time. Kelly also understands the character of Spider-Man as well and he takes that and meshes it with the joking side of Spidey and its a pretty nice balance. He also handles the character of Black Cat really well too. He portrays her as she has always been: An outrageous flirt. Although its kinda weird how she suddenly has the hots for Spidey again after rejecting him waaaaaaaaaay back in the 80s, so I’m kind of wondering why that is. Maybe it was explained and I’m just forgeting.

I can’t give this book all its praise without bringing up Mike McKone. His art has been shining in every issue of ASM he’s drawn. He draws a pretty darn good-looking Black Cat (hey I’m a guy. I can’t help it!) His Spider-Man drawings are top notch and he is definetly one of the best Spidey artists out there right now. Andy Lanning’s inks also helped me enjoy the artwork as well.

I have been loving ASM (for the most part). I just wish that the only writers on the book right now were: Dan Slott, Mark Waid, and Joe Kelly. All three of them have been rocking this book. Marc Guggenheim and Fred Van Lente are ok in my opinion. Bob Gale and Zeb Wells? Don’t even get me started on them. Especially on Bob Gale. I’m going to talk about the last page so *SPOILER ALERT!!!* So Spidey and Black Cat start kissing on a rooftop and this one guy in a nearby house decides to film it and broadcast it live. And guess who sees the live footage? Mary Jane Watson (who somehow remembers that Peter Parker is Spider-Man). Peter Parker my man… you are S-C-R-E-W-E-D. When I saw that last page I thought: Holy $%#&^!!! I can hardly wait for the next issue!!!!

Rating: B+

Up next- Reviews of: Detective Comics#857, Fantastic Four#571, and Invincible#66! Followed by some other random posts. DC#857 and FF#571 sold out at my comic book store so it may be a little while till I get them, but I will definetly review them soon. So stay tuned! Same bat-blog, same bat-awesomeness!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

