Green Lantern#46 REVIEW (Sinestro vs. Mongul!!! Aw yeah!)

1 10 2009

Green Lantern#46

Writer: Geoff Johns

Artist: Doug Mahnke w/ inks by Christian Alamy, Tom Nguyen, and Mahnke himself

Price: $2.99

Publisher: DC Comics

The DCU event Blackest Night continues in GL#46. I wasn’t planning on buying this issue, but when I heard that Sinestro and Mongul would battle it out in this issue it was immeadiately on my list to buy. If you haven’t been reading Blackest Night recently or at all you’re kinda screwed because you will be almost completely lost. This issue picks up right were Blackest Night#3 ended. Green Lantern is teleported to Zamaron (which makes sense because it is his book) by Indigo-1, whom he met last issue. The next few pages of the book consists of Green Lantern, Sinestro, and Star Sapphire battling some Black Lanterns. The dynamic between these three characters is pretty cool to read. If you thought enough people had been risen and that the raising of the dead was over, boy are you wrong. Then the Guardian of the Black Lanterns (who I’m assuming is Scar) smiles a creepy smile similar to a smile that a rapist or a stalker might have.

Then Indigo-1 teleports GL, Sinestro, and Star Sapphire to Mongul. Finally! I was getting irritated that Hal (Green Lantern for those who don’t know. Why wouldn’t you know???) and Star Sapphire were helping Sinestro because this battle, Sinestro vs. Mongul has been brewing for a while, but then Sinestro tells them to back off, so I felt relieved. Unfortunately the battle isn’t very long but it’s still pretty cool to see. Sinestro is nearly killed by Mongul, but he then turns the tables and kicks some alien butt. We get to see an awesome splash page of Sinestro creating spear-like things and uses them to stab Mongul. After that I was yelling at Sinestro (not literally) to kill Sinestro, but Sinestro doesn’t and says he will kill Mongul after the whole dead-raising thing was over. Painfully I knew he was right. Although I think Mongul will probably escape and not be killed. Much to my dismay.

Now I shall shift gears to the art. Mahnke has yet again proved that he is one of the comic book best artists out there. His art is stunning all the time. His coolest stuff is the grim, dark scenes or big battles and gruesomeness (don’t believe me? Check out Green Lantern#43). As you can see this is a very interacting book for the reader (or at least it was for me). So as long as Johns and Mahnke remain on this book I will still be buying it.

Rating: B+

Think its gonna be a positive week? Do ya? Heh. Well I’m gonna shift gears from Green Lantern to Spider-Man!!!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment