Back Issue Review: Identity Crisis

5 10 2009

So a couple weeks ago I was in the mood for a DC story. So I ended up buying the trade paperback of Identity Crisis which is:

Written by: Brad Meltzer

Drawn by: Rags Morales w/ inks by Mike Bair

Because of other stuff I had to do I was only reading about 1-3 pages of this a day for about 3 days. I finally started reading it on my school bus and after reading the first chapter I was hooked and finished the rest of it in about 2-3 hours. This story is very depressing throughout the whole story. Why? Well at the very beginning Sue Dibny (the wife of Elongated Man) is killed. Also Ronnie Raymond and Jack Drake die a little after halfway. Captain Boomerang also gets killed, but that wasn’t sad at all. Sue Dibny and Ronnie are some of my favorite characters so seeing them die was dis-heartning. It still made me cry a little even though I knew they died in the story before I read it. Jack Drake’s death took me by surprise though.

Although the story didn’t really feel like a crisis, but more like a bad few weeks in the life of the heroes of DC. Although it was really cool to get a more realistic story. It was cool to read a crisis event without an Earth-meshing, world conquering, space battle related story. The story had a heart pounding feel to it. Like in the story when Batman found out who was responsible for Sue Dibny’s death and then the story would switch to a different scene. The story did that a lot and it would get a little annoying sometimes. But it lives up to the hype of a thriller story. The story is good and well written.

The art was good also. The fight scene between the JSA and Deathstroke was pretty cool to see how it was drawn out. The scenes where The Atom would be walking through a rope or a carpet were pretty cool to see drawn out. The only problem I had with the art was how Morales drew eyes. It was kinda weird seeing the eyes sometimes instead of the white coloring that usually is drawn. Other than that the art was good and nice to see.

If you like a good mystery and thriller story I recommend this story for you. If your a DC fan and have never read this before you should read it. I am hoping to do a Back Issue Review of the following stories:

-Superman: Red Son

-Batman: The Killing Joke

-Crisis on Infinite Earths

-Daredevil: Born Again

-Man of Steel

-Captain America: Operation Rebirth

-JSA: The Nail

With the comic convention where I live coming up I’ll probably get a chance to get these stories and other stories that aren’t mentioned above.

This review is dedicated to the memory of my dog Prince. I’ll miss you buddy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

